Skip to main content

AI Talks with Michael I. Jordan


A seminar series with inspiring talks from internationally acclaimed experts on artificial intelligence.
Come listen to world-renowned leaders in computer science, machine learning and statistics discuss on a wide range of perspectives on how AI will affect research, business and society.

Arranged by: 
Chalmers AI Research Center (CHAIR)

Title: The Decision-Making Side of Machine Learning: Computational, Inferential and Economic Perspectives​

Abstract: Much of the recent focus in machine learning has been on the pattern-recognition side of the field.  I will focus instead on the decision-making side, where many fundamental challenges remain.  Some are statistical in nature, including the challenges associated with multiple decision-making, and some are algorithmic, including the challenge of coordinated decision-making on distributed platforms.  Finally, others are economic, involving learning systems that must cope with scarcity and competition.  I will present recent progress on each of these fronts.

About the speaker:

Michael I. Jordan is the Pehong Chen Distinguished Professor in the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science and the Department of Statistics at the University of California, Berkeley. His research interests bridge the computational, statistical, cognitive and biological sciences, and have focused in recent years on Bayesian nonparametric analysis, probabilistic graphical models, spectral methods, kernel machines and applications to problems in distributed computing systems, natural language processing, signal processing and statistical genetics. Prof. Jordan is a member of the National Academy of Sciences, a member of the National Academy of Engineering and a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. He is a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. He has been named a Neyman Lecturer and a Medallion Lecturer by the Institute of Mathematical Statistics. He received the IJCAI Research Excellence Award in 2016, the David E. Rumelhart Prize in 2015 and the ACM/AAAI Allen Newell Award in 2009. He is a Fellow of the AAAI, ACM, ASA, CSS, IEEE, IMS, ISBA and SIAM.

Read more and sign up here!